American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)

Professional and technical organization affiliated with Chemical and Biochemical Engineering.

The UI AIChE student chapter received its charter from the National AIChE Organization in 1924.  In recent years, the major activity of the UI AIChE student chapter has involved weekly meetings at which external speakers, primarily from industry, discuss their work in the chemical engineering profession and/or how their chemical engineering background has contributed to their careers (e.g., in law or medicine).  Other activities of the student chapter include (i) plant trips, (ii) attending regional and national AIChE meetings and participating in the ChemE Car and ChemE Jeopardy competitions at these meetings, and (iii) hosting two day camps annually, typically a Halloween day camp in the fall and an Earth Day day camp in the spring, for young children (typically, kindergarten through 4th grade) to expose the children to science and engineering. (updated March 2014)

aiche@engineering.uiowa.edu
http://www.engineering.uiowa.edu/~aiche/
319-335-1228
Members: 
Position/RoleName of PersonEmail of Person
President
Daniel Yocius
daniel-yocius@uiowa.edu
Vice President
Spencer Zook
spencer-zook@uiowa.edu
Treasurer
Montana McCabe
montana-mccabe@uiowa.edu
Secretary
Natalie Northup
natalie-northup@uiowa.edu
Webmaster
Austin Hangartner
austin-hangartner@uiowa.edu
Historian
Jacob Taylor
jacob-taylor@uiowa.edu
Social Chair
Catherine Suchanek
catherine-suchanek@uiowa.edu
ChemE Car Coordinator
Jacob Crome
jacob-crome@uiowa.edu
Newsletter Editor
Adam Erickson
adam-erickson@uiowa.edu
Conference Co-Chair
Austin Hangartner
austin-hangartner@uiowa.edu
Conference Co-Chair
Ian Smith
ian-j-smith@uiowa.edu