Share

Continental Crossings

Student Chapter of Bridges to Prosperity.

Link to OrgSync: http://orgsync.com/77679/chapter

Our mission is to assist communities in Nicaragua build footbridges to overcome the rural isolation experienced during the rainy season. The bridges give communities essential access to hospitals, schools, and economic opportunities. We work throughout the school year to design and fundraise for a community. To accomplish this, we use the guidelines and expertise of technical advisors at the non-profit organization of Bridges to Prosperity to design cost efficient and safe pedestrian bridges. Our goal is raise $20,000 in order to pay for the bridge materials. We host pancake breakfasts, car washes, bake sales, stadium cleanups, and receive donations to pay for the bridge each year. During the summer, a team of seven travel to Nicaragua to implement the bridge design alongside the community. This past fall, our organization was given the Bridge Builder Team of the Year award at the annual Bridge Builders Conference. (updated March 2014)

http://continentalcrossings.com/
Members: 
Position/RoleName of PersonEmail of Person
Co-President
Kathryn Langenfeld
kathryn-langenfeld@uiowa.edu
Co-President
Ian Nessler
ian-nessler@uiowa.edu
Co-President
Louis Hardin
louis-hardin@uiowa.edu
Secretary
Jim Brightmore
jim-brightmore@uiowa.edu
Treasurer
Matthew Pick
matthew-pick@uiowa.edu
Social Chair
Natalie Jones
natalie-l-jones@uiowa.edu
Fundraising Chair
Carl Beranek
carl-beranek@uiowa.edu
Design Leader
Jim Brightmore
jim-brightmore@uiowa.edu
Webmaster
Aaron Nessler
aaron-nessler@uiowa.edu