Share

Continental Crossings

Student Chapter of Bridges to Prosperity.  (updated for 2014-2015)

Link to OrgSync: http://orgsync.com/77679/chapter

Our mission is to assist communities in Nicaragua build footbridges to overcome the rural isolation experienced during the rainy season. The bridges give communities essential access to hospitals, schools, and economic opportunities. We work throughout the school year to design and fundraise for a community. To accomplish this, we use the guidelines and expertise of technical advisers at the non-profit organization of Bridges to Prosperity (B2P) to design cost efficient and safe pedestrian bridges. Our goal is raise $20,000 in order to pay for the bridge materials. We host pancake breakfasts, car washes, bake sales, stadium cleanups, and receive donations to pay for the bridge each year. During the summer, a team of seven travel to Nicaragua to implement the bridge design alongside the community. Our organization was named the Bridge Builder Team of the Year at the annual B2P Bridge Builders Conference in Fall 2013.

http://continentalcrossings.com/
Members: 
Position/RoleName of PersonEmail of Person
President
Kathryn Langenfeld
kathryn-langenfeld@uiowa.edu
Co-Vice President
Anthony Emigh
anthony-emigh@uiowa.edu
Co-Vice President
Natalie Jones
natalie-l-jones@uiowa.edu
Secretary
Xavier Ledesma
xavier-ledesma@uiowa.edu
Social Chair
Colin Joy
colin-joy@uiowa.edu
Fundraising Chair
Logan Weyandt
logan-weyandt@uiowa.edu
Design Leader
Quinn McNutt
quinn-mcnutt@uiowa.edu
Webmaster
Matt Pick
matt-pick@uiowa.edu