How do my grades get calculated in my GPA?

The college uses a letter grading system. A denotes superior performance, B denotes above average, C denotes average, D denotes below average, and F denotes failure of the course.

Plus and minus designate gradations of performance between letter grades. Letter grades and their numerical equivalents are as follows.

  • A–plus: 4.33
  • A (superior): 4.00
  • A–minus: 3.67
  • B–plus: 3.33
  • B (above average): 3.00
  • B–minus: 2.67
  • C–plus: 2.33
  • C (average): 2.00
  • C–minus: 1.67
  • D–plus: 1.33
  • D (below average): 1.00
  • D–minus: 0.67
  • F (failing): 0

This grading system is used for all students in both undergraduate and graduate engineering courses. Grades of D-minus are passing grades; that is, courses completed with grades of D-minus or higher count toward collegiate requirements, with the exception of MATH:1550 Engineering Mathematics I: Single Variable Calculus and MATH:1560 Engineering Mathematics II: Multivariable Calculus, which have a minimum grade requirement of C-minus or higher. Grades of A-plus have a value of 4.33 in calculating grade-point averages, but averages displayed in University records are truncated so that they do not exceed 4.00.