Mechanical Engineering Graduate Scholarships

Richard B. Stewart Thermal-Fluids Graduate Scholarships

A scholarship is made annually to Mechanical Engineering graduate students with superior academic achievement in the area of thermal sciences or fluid mechanics. The scholarship is made possible through the generosity of Dr. Richard B. Stewart.

Past Recipients

Year Student
2005-2006 Brett Bathel
2006-2007 Shiv Kumar Sambasivan
2006-2007 Yun Huang
2007-2008 Youbing Yin
2008-2009 Jacob Thole
2009-2010 Shane Cook
2010-2011 Alejandro Castro, Craig Wojcik
2012-2013 Majid Emadi, Jianan Zhang


Sharada Devi Planjery Memorial Award

The Sharada Devi Planjery Memorial Award supports two scholarships in the amount of $2500 each to deserving students in the College of Engineering’s Mechanical Engineering program.  It is the Donor’s wish that preference be given to graduate students, the award be both need- and merit-based, and have no geographic constraints.

Past Recipients

Year Student(s)
2007-2008 Ryan Dudgeon and Kevin Langan
2008-2009 Alejandro Castro, Youbing Yin,  and Anil Kapahi
2009-2010 Ankush Bhasin, Craig Wojcik, and James Ulstad
2010-2011 Masashi Yamaguchi, Amir Barakati, and Matias Perret
2012-2013 Nicholas Gaul, Chao Zheng, Fazlolah Mohaghegh