Beckermann Receives Award from The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

University of Iowa News Release

Christoph Beckermann, UI Foundation Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering and director of the UI Solidification Laboratory, received the 2010 Bruce Chalmers Award from The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) during the organization's Feb. 14-18 annual meeting in Seattle.

The society-wide award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and technology of solidification processing. International in scope and membership, TMS encompasses the entire range of materials and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production to basic research and the advanced applications of materials.

Beckermann is internationally recognized for his research in solidification phenomena and materials processing. Among his many professional society memberships, he is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He received a National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1989. He currently serves on the editorial boards of four professional journals.