Beckermann Receives Award from Steel Founders' Society of America

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

University of Iowa News Release

Christoph Beckermann, University of Iowa Foundation Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering and director of the UI Solidification Laboratory, received the Thomas E. Barlow Award of Honor from the Steel Founders' Society of America during their 63rd annual conference held Dec. 9-12 in Chicago.

The award recognizes those individuals who have made a distinguished contribution to the industry. Beckermann was cited in part for developing the understanding of water modeling and revising the risering rules for steel castings. Organized in 1902 as a steel foundry trade association, the society has presented only 23 such awards.

As a part of the award, a one-time $1,500 scholarship will be established by the society in Beckermann's name in the department of mechanical and industrial engineering for a junior or senior who plans to attend graduate school.

Beckermann is internationally recognized for his research in solidification phenomena and materials processing. Among his many professional society memberships, he is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He received a National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1989. He currently serves on the editorial boards of four different journals.