College of Engineering Forms Young Alumni Advisory Board

Monday, September 17, 2007

University of Iowa News Release

The University of Iowa College of Engineering has formed a Young Alumni Advisory Board and named its inaugural 11 members.

They are:

--Jacob Cannon, Shive-Hattery, Moline, Ill.

--Katie Coates, Rockwell Collins, Inc., Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

--Josh Gersten, Clipper Wind Turbine, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

--Samantha Lane, Stryker Orthopaedics, Mahwah, N.J.

--Andy McCoy, HDR Engineering, Des Moines, Iowa.

--Jarrod Moss, Caterpillar, Inc., Peoria, Ill.

--Brian O'Leary, Bio::Neos, Inc., Coralville, Iowa.

--Anne Ryerson, John Deere Harverster Works, East Moline, Ill.

--Ori Sivan, Greenmaker Supply Co., Chicago, Ill.

--Jeffrey Skrentner, Boston Scientific, Plymouth, Minn.

--Jerry Steele, doctoral candidate, College of Engineering, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa.

The Young Alumni Advisory Board was created to assist the College of Engineering with achieving its strategic plan and vision by:

--Sharing perspectives, knowledge and experiences as a student and as a new engineer in the workplace.

--Engaging young alumni in the life of the college.

--Supporting the University of Iowa Alumni Association goal to engage more students and young (age 30 and younger) alumni as well as increase opportunities for young alumni participation.

--Creating in young alumni a strong interest and commitment to the college and developing a network of mutually beneficial relationships among alumni, students and faculty.

--Developing a loyalty to the College so alumni will want to invest in the college with volunteer and financial support.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,