Dove Receives Brody Award for Faculty Excellence

Monday, September 30, 2013
By Kris Yows
Edwin Dove, associate professor of biomedical engineering, is a recipient of the 2013 Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellenc in Service from the University of Iowa.  The Brody Award is named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, president of the UI Faculty Senate in 1986-87. It recognizes outstandin faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the university and the state of Iowa.
Dove has an impressive record of service that includes sitting on more than a dozen university committees and task forces; acting as interim departmental executive officer of his department; chairing the 2011 review of the Presidential Committee on Athletics; and serving as vice president, president, and past president of the Faculty Senate.

In the latter roles, his thoughtful and collaborative leadership style helped move important initiatives forward and contributed to the university’s reputation as a model institution for effective shared governance. He formed productive relationships with regents and legislators, and helped establish a new tradition of annual visits by the governor with UI faculty and staff.

Dove is a successful researcher with more than a dozen funded research grants, and an outstanding teacher who has won more than 10 teaching awards, including the President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence in 2004.