E. B. Kurtz Senior Merit Award Winners Announced

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Josiah McClurg, Patrice Metcalf-Putnam and Samantha Rossman were named recipients of the E.B. Kurtz Senior Merit Award. The award is given to one or more seniors majoring in electrical engineering in recognition of their high scholarship, character, professional promise and service to the department.

Josiah McClurg of North Liberty, IA, is a research assistant in the Center for Computer-Aided Design and a collegiate tutor. He is an active member of the Hawkeye Robotics Club. After graduation, he plans to continue his education and research.

Patrice Metcalf-Putnam, of Fort Dodge, IA, has been employed as a Young Engineer at General Motors, a teaching assistant and a peer consultant for the Hanson Center for Technical Communications. After graduation, she will relocate to Boston.

Samantha Rossman, of Lake Forest, IL, is a tutor for the College of Engineering and a teaching assistant in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. She will pursue BS/MS in Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Members of the student chapter of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers nominate students for the award and a committee of electrical and computer engineering faculty members make the final selection.

Edwin B. Kurtz, professor and head of the UI Electrical Engineering Department from 1929 to 1960. Kurtz was the architect of the world's first educational television station, directing experimental station W9xk in Iowa City during the 1930s.