NAE Recognizes 2014 College of Engineering Grand Challenge Scholars

Friday, June 27, 2014

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has recognized seven UI College of Engineering students who are part of the NAE Grand Challenge Scholars Program for 2014.

The are Andrew Maurer, Jacob Kirpes, Nicholas Glynn, Shayma Elsheikh, Theresa Benskin, Stephen Belmustakov, and Zachary Rasmussen.

The University of Iowa is one of 16 active NAE Grand Challenge Scholars Programs in the U.S.

The program stemmed from the 14 NAE Grand Challenges for Engineering. It is a combined curricular and extra-curricular program designed to prepare students to tackle goals that could dramatically improve quality of life around the world.

The program employs five key components: research experience, an interdisciplinary curriculum (referred to as Engineering +), entrepreneurship, a global dimension, and service learning.

For more information on the College of Engineering's Grand Challenge Scholars Program, go to