Parkin Wins Top Teaching Award

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

University of Iowa News Release

Four University of Iowa faculty members have won the 2010 President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence in recognition of their years of outstanding teaching. The recipients are: Nancy Hauserman, professor of management and organizations, and Todd Houge, lecturer in finance, both from the Henry B. Tippie College of Business; Gene Parkin, Donald E. Bently Professor of Engineering, professor of civil and environmental engineering; and Norbert Pienta, professor of chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The award, which is administered by the UI Council on Teaching, was created in 2004 as a university-wide recognition for faculty members who have demonstrated a sustained, high level of teaching excellence.

Parkin has taught in the UI Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering since 1986. Recognized internationally for his expertise in environmental engineering, Parkin is co-author of one of the most widely used textbooks in the field. His engaging teaching style, active efforts to involve students in his research and mentorship have inspired many to follow in his footsteps; out of 16 doctoral students he has advised, 11 are professors, many of them in top-20 graduate engineering programs. He received the Collegiate Teaching Award in 1996 and a Regents Award for Faculty Excellence in 1999.

Parkin also is director of the Center for Health Effects of Environmental Contamination.