Presidential Scholarships Awarded to Ten Incoming Engineering Freshmen

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

The University of Iowa announced the names of 36 incoming first-year students who have been offered the school's most prestigious -- and most valuable -- scholarship for incoming freshmen, the Presidential Scholarship, valued at $52,000 over four years.

Recipients represent the top applicants to the UI for fall 2009, including 24 students from Iowa. They were selected from a pool of more than 700 candidates worldwide, said Michael Barron, UI director of admissions and associate provost for enrollment services.

The award, valued at $13,000 a year ($52,000 over four years), recognizes outstanding high school seniors based on excellence in academics, leadership, involvement, and service. It represents about 85 percent of what an in-state Iowa student would pay for tuition, fees, room and board at the UI for four years.

The recipient pool reflects the scholarship's high standards: the average ACT score is 34, and the average high school grade point average is 4.0.

Ten of the 36 students have indicated they will study engineering:

Ethan Coffel of Iowa City, IA
Ethan Craig of Cedar Rapids, IA
Audrey Erickson of Sioux City, IA
Anna Frishman of Ames, IA
Emily Gross of Indianola, IA
Ryan Holstad of Chesterfield, MO
Maria Kulikova of Iowa City, IA
Allyson Mayer of Urbandale, IA
Elizabeth Risius of Normal, IL
Jason Wu of Cumming, IA