Schnoor Receives Clarke Prize from National Water Research Institute

Friday, April 30, 2010

University of Iowa News Release

The National Water Research Institute has named Jerald L. Schnoor, Allen S. Henry Chair Professor of Engineering in the University of Iowa College of Engineering, the 2010 recipient of the Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize.

The prize, consisting of a medallion and a $50,000 award, is given to active researchers and practitioners who demonstrate excellence through their continuous contributions to the body of knowledge related to protecting, maintaining, treating and reclaiming water resources.

Schnoor, editor-in-chief of the journal Environmental Science & Technology (ES&T) and chair of a recent National Research Council panel on the Water Implications of Biofuels Production in the United States, was cited for dedicating his career to the sustainable use of water.

A member of the National Academy of Engineering, he also serves as research engineer at IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering, co-director of the UI Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research (CGRER), and chair of Gov. Chet Culver's Iowa Climate Change Advisory Council. He leads the University of Iowa initiative on Water Sustainability and the cluster hiring of 10 new faculty members in this area.

Schnoor will receive the prize July 15 at the 17th Annual Clarke Prize Lecture and Award Ceremony in Costa Mesa, Calif.

To download a copy of the lecture, click here.