Students Recognized at Engineering Commencement

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

The College of Engineering undergraduate commencement ceremony was held Saturday, December 15, at MacBride Auditorium. Soura Dasgupta, professor of electrical and computer engineering, gave the charge to the graduates.

Katherine Dostal of Cedar Falls, IA, gave the graduating senior address.

UI Executive Vice President and Provost P. Barry Butler conferred 51 degrees.

Lara Gaber of the Engineering Student Council presented the graduating senior award, chosen through nomination by the senior class to Zachary Hanson.

This fall, the graduating seniors from each program selected a faculty member to be recognized at commencement for their excellence in teaching and dedication to student learning. Awards were presented to Sarah Vigmostadt, assistant professor of biomedical engineering; Julie Jessop, associate professor of chemical and biochemical engineering; Wilfrid Nixon, professor of civil and environmental engineering; Soura Dasgupta, professor of electrical and computer engineering; Peter O’Grady, professor of industrial engineering and H.S. Udaykumar, professor of mechanical engineering.

Two students graduated with a second major: Yiming He (BSE in civil engineering and Bachelors of Science in Art); and David Klein-Rodick (BSE in civil engineering and Bachelors of Science in Political Science).

John Meyer earned a Technological Entrepreneurship Certificate.

Ryan Kleffman earned a certificate in sustainability.

Katherine Dostal and Andrew Rommann graduated with highest distinction. Barbara McMullan and Zachary Bodensteiner graduated with distinction.

Graduating with honors:  Jaehyun Cho, Yiming He, Krista lea, Zicheng Gong and Brianna O’Neal.

Twenty-one candidates graduated with at least one minor: mathematics (8); business administration (14); computer science (5); Spanish (2) chemistry (1); and economics (1). One candidate earned a triple minor. Eight candidates earned a double minor.

Graduate College Commencement was held Friday, December 14. Fourteen MS degrees were awarded and 12 PhD degrees in engineering were awarded.