UI College of Engineering Announces 2011-12 Student Ambassadors

Monday, October 24, 2011

University of Iowa News Release

The University of Iowa College of Engineering Student Ambassador Program recently announced the names of 18 students who are serving as student ambassadors for the 2011-12 academic year.

College administrators note that the Student Ambassador Program, currently in its 15th year, was initiated to complement the services that engineering faculty and staff offer.

Student ambassadors are engineering students from each department who wish to share the benefit of their experiences and provide help whenever needed. They serve as a resource for current students as well as for prospective high school and transfer students. The student ambassadors work closely with Jane Dorman, director of college admissions and first-year experience, on recruitment of future students as well as retention activities with first-year students.

The 2011-12 Student Ambassadors are:


Anamosa: Jackie Engelbart, sophomore, majoring in biomedical engineering.
Boone: Dillan Newbold, sophomore, major in biomedical engineering.
Hawkeye: Zach Bodensteiner, senior, majoring in electrical engineering.
Swisher: Danielle Wright, junior, majoring in industrial engineering.
West Des Moines: Peige Zhou, senior, majoring in biomedical engineering and music.


Colorado Springs: Nicole Olson, junior, majoring in biomedical engineering.


Bartlett: Stephanie Swiatlo, junior, majoring in biomedical engineering.
Carol Stream: Melanie Kneisel, junior, majoring in electrical engineering.
Deer Park: Jillian Nagle, junior, majoring in mechanical engineering.
Manhattan: Brianna Knoll, junior, majoring in biomedical engineering.
Normal: Elizabeth Risius, junior, majoring in electrical engineering.
Ottawa: Zach Yuhas, junior, majoring in industrial engineering.
Park Ridge: Matt Burian, junior, majoring in chemical engineering.
Rockford: Kevin Lindenberg, senior, majoring in industrial engineering.


Edina: Jeff Moon, junior, majoring in biomedical engineering.
Rosemount: Betsy Campbell, senior, majoring in biomedical engineering.


Flower Mound: Zach Meyer, senior, majoring in mechanical engineering.


Sun Prairie: Tyler Beduhn, junior, majoring in civil engineering.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009, gary-galluzzo@uiowa.edu