The University of Iowa College of Engineering Advisory Board

The College of Engineering Advisory Board provides value to the College in developing and achieving its strategic plan/vision.  The Board provides advice by drawing upon perspectives, knowledge, and experiences from global trends.  Meanwhile, the College provides awareness and knowledge of new technologies and educational trends, and informs the Board of its progress in achieving the strategic plan.

Board members benefit by being part of ongoing communication between the world of engineering education as represented by The University of Iowa College of Engineering and the full spectrum of engineering activities.

The Board concentrates on four areas of strategic importance:

  • Better Futures for Iowans
  • Knowledge and Practice
  • New Frontiers in the Arts
  • Student Success
Current Members

Kristi Schmidt Bauerly
(BSE 2002 Industrial Engineering)
Human Factors Engineer, Industrial Design
Apple Inc., Cupertino, CA

Michael Bauerly
(BSE 2003 Industrial Engineering)
(BA 2003 Studio Arts)
Design Manager and Lead
Amazon Lab126, Sunnyvale, CA

Patricia Coleman
(BSCE 1978)
Principal (retired)
Thornton-Tomasetti, Dallas, TX

Mitchell Corbett
(BSE 1987 Electrical Engineering, MBA 2002)
Field Automation Support Manager
Pioneer Hi-Bred
DuPont, Inc., Johnston, IA

Christine Headington-Hall
Director of Human Resources,
Pella Corporation, Pella, IA

Jody L. Howard
(BSE 1986 Electrical Engineering)
General Manager, CAT Industrial and Waste Group
Caterpillar Inc., Peoria, IL

Gregory J. Kirsch
(BSE 1987 Electrical Engineering)
Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP, Atlanta, GA

Terry Kouba
Vice President-Generation Operations
Alliant Energy, Dubuque, IA

Robert E. Kress, Chair
(MA 1981 Business Administration)  
Accenture, Chicago, IL 

Phillip S. Larson
Vice President and Office Director 
Shive-Hattery Architecture/Engineering
Iowa City, IA

Adrian LaTrace
Chief Executive Officer
Boyd Industries, Inc.
Clearwater, FL

Phillip O. Mayberry
(BS 1967 Industrial Engineering)
Customer Event Director
Emerson Process Management, Marshalltown, IA 

Daniel L. Mineck
Vice President, Performance Engineering and Environment (retired)  
Alliant Energy, Cedar Rapids, IA

Marco Molinari
Executive Vice President, HNI Corporation
Muscatine, IA

Kelly Ortberg
(BSME 1982)
CEO and President
Rockwell Collins, Inc., Cedar Rapids, IA

Bernardo A. Perez
Director, Engineering-Low Voltage
Power Business
Schneider Electric, Cedar Rapids, IA

Gayle Roberts
President and Chief Executive Officer
Stanley Consultants, Inc., Muscatine IA

Jeff Rossate
Manager, Real Estate & Location Strategy-Strategy and Operations
Deloitte Consulting LLP, Cedar Rapids, IA

Barbara J. Sines
(BSIE 1980)
Vice President of Manufacturing for the Point of Care (POC) Business Unit
Siemens Healthcare-Diagnostics, Boston, MA

Caroline VanIngen-Dunn
(BSBME 1983)
Manager, STEM Initiative, Science Foundation Arizona
President and Owner
C.V.I.D. Consulting Services, Tempe, AZ

Roger Vincent
Source Allies, Inc., Des Moines, IA

Robert W. Whitmore
(BSE 1986 in Mechanical Engineering)
Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer (retired)
Seagate Technology LLC
Shakopee, MN

Tim Wilkinson
Director, North America Public Strategy Group (retired)
Alcoa, Inc., Bettendorf, IA

Laurie Zelnio
(BA 1977 Biochemistry)
Director-Environment, Product Safety, Standards & Energy
Deere & Co., Moline, IL