AIChE Students Score Big at Annual Meeting

Sunday, November 10, 2013

UI Chemical Engineering students again dominated awards at the annual meeting of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, held November 3-8 in San Francisco.

Iowa was recognized as an Outstanding Chapter by the organization.  This is the ninth straight year the chapter has been rewarded with the recognition.  It has received the award 20 out of the past 21 years.

UI students were national champions of the Chem-E Jeopardy competition at the annual meeting, winning out of the nine regions participating.  Team members were Austin Hangartner, Nick Schickel, Danny Yocius, and Matt Taylor.  The team won the competition by one point, correctly answering a question from the chemical process design category. 

Chemical engineering student Austin Hangartner was awarded First Place in the research poster competition on engineering materials and sciences.

Nick Schickel received the Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship, one of only 15 awarded in the U.S.

Sean Fitzgerald won the Donald F. Othmer Sophomore Academic Excellence Award.

Team members Kyle Kubat, Taylor Malott, and Darren Youngs, who graduated from the UI last spring, received three of five awards for safety and design – the Safety and Chemical Engineering Education (SAChE) Student Design Competition for Safety and Design and the SAChE Team Award for Overall Safety.

Matthew Buriam and Tyler Manning received the Safety and Health Division Student Design Competition Aware for Inherently Safer Design.

This year’s annual meeting also included a special UI alumni reception, attended by about 60 graduates, friends, current students, faculty, and staff members.