AIChE Wins Numerous 2013 Honors

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

The student chapter of the American Institute of Chemical engineers continues a tradition of earning a number of national awards over the past year. So far, the chapter has been recognized with the following achievements:

  • Outstanding Student Chapter Award for 2012-2013
  • Nicholas Schickel earning the Donald F. & Mildred Topp Othmer National Scholarship Award ($1000) for 2013-2014
  • Sean Fitzgerald receiving the Donald F. Othmer Sophomore Academic Excellence Award for 2012-2013
  • Kyle Kubat, Taylor Malott, Darren Youngs, Matt Burian, and Tyler Manning getting the Safety& Health Division National Design Competition Award for Inherently Safer Design
  • Kyle Kubat, Taylor Malott, and Darren Youngs receiving the SAChE Team Award in Overall Safety for 2013
  • Nick Schickel, Matt Taylor, Ben Ungs, Austin Hangartner (winners of the 2013 Mid-America Region Competition) participating in the Chem-E Jeopardy Competition at the Annual Student Conference in San Francisco

Faculty advisor for the AIChE chapter is David Murhammer, professor of chemical and biochemical engineering.