Civil and Environmental Engineering Recognized at Iowa Section ASCE Annual Meeting

College of Engineering students, faculty, and staff members, and alumni were recognized September 8 at the recent Iowa Section Annual Meeting of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).

Adam Kueny received the Outstanding Senior Award for his contributions to the UI Student Chapter. Kueny also received an Iowa Section ASCE Scholarship, along with junior Jacob Cooke.

Bill Eichinger, William

D. Ashton Professor of Civil Engineering, professor of civil and environmental engineering, and faculty research engineer at IIHR--Hydroscience & Engineering, received the Outstanding Civil Engineer Award, which honored his long-term contributions in professional service, including improving the professional aspects of engineering education and professional guidance of young people.

UI civil and environmental engineering alumni also won the other two engineer awards. Andy Burke (BSE 2004 civil engineering) was named the Outstanding Associated Member for his work with the Central Iowa Younger Member Group. Dave Wallace (BSE 1987 civil engineering) was named the Outstanding Government Civil Engineer for his career accomplishments as a Cedar Rapids engineer and for his community service.

Several alumni were also appointed to the Iowa Section Board. Aaron Granquist (BSE 2000 civil engineering, MBA 2010), a civil and environmental engineering advisory board member, was appointed as president. Brian Boelk (BSE 1998 civil engineering) will serve as vice president. Benjamin Cole (BSE 2003 civil engineering) will serve in the past president role. Brice Stafne (MS 2012 civil and environmental engineering) will serve as an associate director. Joe Spradling (BSE 2000 civil engineering) completed his final term on the Iowa Section Board.