University of Iowa College of Engineering Advisory Board

The College of Engineering Advisory Board provides value to the College in developing and achieving its strategic plan/vision.  The Board provides advice by drawing upon perspectives, knowledge, and experiences from global trends.  Meanwhile, the College provides awareness and knowledge of new technologies and educational trends, and informs the Board of its progress in achieving the strategic plan.

Board members benefit by being part of ongoing communication between the world of engineering education as represented by The University of Iowa College of Engineering and the full spectrum of engineering activities.

The Board concentrates on four areas of strategic importance:

  • Better Futures for Iowans
  • Knowledge and Practice
  • New Frontiers in the Arts
  • Student Success
Kristi Schmidt Bauerly
(BSE 2002 Industrial Engineering)
Human Factors Engineer, Industrial Design
Apple Inc., Cupertino, CA
Adrian Latrace
Adrian LaTrace
Chief Executive Officer
Boyd Industries, Inc., Clearwater, FL
Michael Bauerly
(BSE 2003 Industrial Engineering)
(BA 2003 Studio Arts)
Reddit, San Francisco, CA
Phil Mayberry
Phillip O. Mayberry
(BS 1967 Industrial Engineering)
Customer Event Director
Emerson Process Management, Marshalltown, IA

Kimberly Beardsley
(BSE 1990 Industrial Engineering)
Vice President, Worldwide Parts Services
Deere & Company, Milan, IL

amanda mikhail pic
Amanda Mikhail
(BS 1999 Mechanical Engineering)
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
Elizabeth Bernard
(BSE 2000 Chemical Engineering)
Of Counsel, Litigation
Paul Hastings LLP, Las Vegas, NV
Dan Mineck
Daniel L. Mineck
Vice President, Performance Engineering and Environment (retired)  
Alliant Energy, Cedar Rapids, IA
Mark Bogue

Mark Bogue
(BSE 1982 Civil Engineering)
Hi-Way Products, Inc., Ida Grove, IA

Bernardo Perez
Bernardo A. Perez
Director of Engineering
Columbus McKinnon, Charlotte, NC
Patricia Coleman
(BSCE 1978)
Principal (retired)
Thornton-Tomasetti, Dallas, TX
Jeff Rossate
Jeff Rossate
Director, Office of Business Development
Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
St. Paul, MN
Mitchell Corbett
(BSE 1987 Electrical Engineering, MBA 2002)
Manufacturing and Field Technology Manager
Corteva Agriscience, Johnston, IA
Barbara Sines
Barbara J. Sines
(BSIE 1980)
Vice President of Manufacturing for the Point of Care (POC) Business Unit (retired)
Siemens Healthcare-Diagnostics, Boston, MA

Steve Davis
(MS 2003 Electrical and Computer Engineering)
President and Owner
BIO::NEOS, Inc., Iowa City, IA

Sharon Tinker
Sharon Tinker
(BSChE 1980)
Process Safety Engineer (retired)
ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company, Ankeny, IA
Christopher Day
(BSE 1991 Civil Engineering)
Vice President and Project Principal
Stanley Consultants, Inc., Muscatine, IA
Caroline Vaningen-Dunn
Caroline Vaningen-Dunn
(BSBME 1983)
Director, SFAz Center for STEM at Arizona State University
President and Owner
C.V.I.D. Consulting Services, Tempe, AZ
Terry Kouba
Terry Kouba
Vice President-Generation Operations
Alliant Energy, Dubuque, IA
Bob Whitmore
Robert W. Whitmore
(BSE 1986 in Mechanical Engineering)
Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer (retired)
Seagate Technology LLC, Shakopee, MN
Bob Kress
Robert E. Kress, Chair
(MA 1981 Business Administration)  
Managing Director, Accenture Security
Accenture, Chicago, IL